Cynicism killed the Cat hater….no.1

28 Dec

After hours sat in the pub putting the world to rights, it became somewhat apparent that there seemed little positive in the world that we found ourselves discussing.  My cat hating friend (one of the topics of rantings) challenged me to name something positive happening in the world and following my shocking ‘oh shit I’ve just been put on the spot without thinking this through’ moment I came up with having me as a friend.  Yes really that is how low I had to go.  So the challenge is now to prove to my cynical friend that there is some good in the world, that people still do nice things for each other and just maybe there is reason (other than laughing at my face) to smile.

1. On 27th December 2010 in Oklahoma a calf stranded on a frozen pond, was saved by a rancher and a rescue helicopter.  Instead of standing and laughing at the poor Bambi like skating calf, these people took it upon themselves to save the poor fellow.

I doubt this will have created a great warm glow within you all, but we are just warming up………

2 Responses to “Cynicism killed the Cat hater….no.1”

  1. The hater of cats January 5, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    As happy as i am that a calf was saved, two observations spring to mind. 1. What a waste of public finances and tax payers money. 2. The calf was saved so it can grow into a cow, and thus become a part of a multi-million dollar fast food industry, immortalised by a big yellow M and a legacy of poor health. Not happy.

  2. theresnomasterplan January 5, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Oh and the Cynical Cat Hater finally arrives online!
    1. The government waste more that enough of our public finances and tax payers money on far more rediculous things (their second home for example). I would much rather a tiny smidge of it be spend on saving the poor little cute Bambi calf.
    2. That calf may well grown up skipping through the meadows and come a wholesome end and find itself as a huge slab of meaty steak for my low fat high protein fuled diet producing a happy me and therefore a happy (ish) you when I take you picnicing and boating…
    I think you suit cynicism x

Leave a comment